The Celtic Wheel of the Year is a celebration of the turning of our beloved planet Gaia.  It is separated into 8 holy days or holidays based on the Solstices and Equinoxes known as the quarter days, and the midpoints between, known as the cross quarter days.

The quarter days are…

Yule- December 20-23rd  (Winter Solstice)

Ostara- March 19-22nd (Vernal/Spring Equinox)

Litha- June 19-23rd (Summer Solstice)

Mabon- September 21-24th (Autumnal Equinox)

The Cross quarter days are…

Samhain-October 31st-November 1st (Halloween)

Imbolc-February 2nd (Candlemas)

Beltaine-May 1st(May Day)

Lughnasadh-August 1st (Lammas)

The Wheel of the Year according to the Celts begins at Samhain.  It is in the darkness that the seed of life and change is planted in minds and spirit.  As many of you have expressed your desire to be more educated on this matter, I will start with Imbolc as it is the Holiday that stands directly before us.

Imbolc (pronounced i-MOLK or i-MOLG )

Imbolc is a holy day connected to the Goddess Brighid/Bridget.  It also a time of weather divination and preparing for spring.  For many it was and is a celebration of hearth and home.  A time of honoring the first signs of spring as the light becomes noticeably longer & the Ewes begin to give birth.

Brighid is one of the oldest Celtic goddesses.  She was so beloved by the Irish that they refused to put her aside when Catholicism/Christianity made its mark, and was hence transformed into Saint Bridget by the Catholic church.  Brighid is a triple faced goddess, but not in the maiden/mother/crone way.  Her tr